Q&A: How can you use Long exposures to make people disappear in a pinch.

Sometimes you cannot control when you have access to a location, or if you are the only people that are there at the same time.  This happened to me this weekend.  My wife and I visited Angel Oak on John’s Island, SC.  It is a very popular tourist site with a very old oak tree and definitely worth a visit.  The resurrection fern is really cool too, make sure you go during a wet season.

There were about 50 strangers walking around the old tree while we were there so trying to get a clear shot was impossible.  (I will go back on a bad weather day someday and get some cool shots, but I wanted something yesterday. )  The cover photo shows what I could get by waiting on people to leave, but the signs were still all over the place and I wanted to minimize their view as well.

I had a ND8 filter in my car and my tripod in the car.  So I set up some shots for over 10 seconds and if no one stayed still too long, they looked like little ghosts in the final images.  Are these my best work?  Not at all, but it was fun playing with long exposures and making people disappear.  Now I know I can do this at other locations and with a little practice, get some really cool images.

 

long exposure test
long exposure test
long exposure test
See the people that stood still for too long and almost appeared in the shot?
One thought on “Q&A: How can you use Long exposures to make people disappear in a pinch.

Please leave a reply and let me know what you think.

